breakout 8 winners 2019

Congratulations to this year's winners!

Jennifer Ahlquist is an East Coast transplant to California, currently writing her MFA thesis at UC Davis. Her fiction has appeared in issue 4.2 of The Maine Review, and online in The Eunoia Review and Storychord. She has supported her writing by serving sushi, tweeting about designer furniture, booking events in a basement bowling alley, and copy writing Dutch press releases.

Shuang Ang was born and raised in Singapore and is currently an MFA student at Sarah Lawrence College. She has been published by The Rumpus and the Asian American Writers’ Workshop, and her chapbook, ‘Immigrant Ritual’, was a runner-up in the Two Sylvias Press Chapbook Prize.

Andres Cordoba is a Massachusetts born writer and graduate of SUNY Purchase’s creative writing and literature programs. He has received honors such as the Ginny Wray Poetry prize, Thayer Fellowship For the Arts, and Patricia Kerr Ross Award. His work has appeared in Italics Mine, The Gandy Dancer, and Gravitas. Never been the type of guy to ruin a sleek futon, he’s your dad’s problematic fav.

Brian Crawford lives in the San Francisco Bay Area, where he does corporate communications by day and writes fiction in his garage in the early mornings. His work has appeared or is forthcoming in Crazyhorse, Arts & Letters, Epiphany, Carve, New South, McSweeney’s Internet Tendency, and elsewhere. His stories have placed in several contests this year, and his story collection was a finalist for the 2019 Press 53 Award for Short Fiction and has been longlisted for the Santa Fe Writers Project Literary Award. More at

Pune Dracker is a 2020 MFA candidate studying Nonfiction/Poetry at The New School. She has spent many years writing and editing for the animal welfare world, and is a long-distance runner, jazz funk dancer and exceptionally messy vegan baker. Her recent work has appeared in SLICE, Hyperallergic and Barrow Street’s 4X2 Project.

Christopher Linforth is a doctoral student working on a collection of stories set in the former Yugoslavia. These stories have appeared in Notre Dame Review, Day One, Grain, The Dalhousie Review, and other magazines.

Duncan Slagle is a Queer poet and performer studying Ancient Greek and Creative Writing at the University of Wisconsin-Madison as a First Wave scholar. Duncan's poems have appeared or are forthcoming in The Adroit Journal, Palette Poetry, BOAAT Journal, Vinyl Poetry, Hobart, The Shallow Ends and others. Duncan currently lives in Athens, Greece.

Nicholas Weaver is a teaching artist and spoken-word performer, with work appearing in This Land Press, Columbia Poetry Review, and others. He lives in Oklahoma, where he enjoys daydreaming about ocean trenches and post-apocalyptic wastelands.

They each received:

  • A manuscript review and year-long mentorship with Rachel Lyon
  • Publication in Epiphany's Breakout 8 special issue
  • A one-year membership to the Authors Guild
  • A one-year subscription to Epiphany
  • A $250 cash prize, and more...

Sponsored by Epiphany and the Authors Guild. Judged by Rumaan Alam, Rachel Lyon, and Robin Beth Schaer.

Epiphany is a nonprofit literary journal published in print twice per year. They are interested in risk-taking work, and though they’ve published well-established or fast-rising writers like Elena Ferrante, Rae Armantrout, Ed Hirsch, Lydia Davis, and Jamel Brinkley, they are especially open to writers whose explorations of new territory may not yet have found validation elsewhere. In the first year of the PEN/Robert J. Dau Prize for Debut Fiction, a story from the journal, “The Message” by Ruth Serven, was awarded the honor, as was Pingmei Lan’s “Cicadas and the Dead Chairman” this past March.

The Authors Guild Foundation is the charitable and educational arm of the Authors Guild. It educates, supports, and protects American writers to ensure that a rich, diverse body of literature can flourish. It does this by advocating for authors’ rights, educating authors across the country in the business of writing, and promoting an understanding of the value of writers.