Bulletin Board

This week’s batch includes prizes for our Kentucky residents, our Midwest residents, women, and translators. Deadlines range from Jan 31-Feb 15.

The Al Smith Individual Artist Fellowships are given to Kentucky artists, including writers, who have achieved a high level of excellence and creativity in their work. Applications in the literary arts categories of fiction, nonfiction and poetry will be accepted this year. Fellows will receive $7,500. Awards are unrestricted and may be used in any way to enhance the artist’s career. Applications will be reviewed using the following performance expectations: artistic excellence and professional achievements. Deadline: February 15, 2014. For more information, please visit the website.

The Susan B Anthony Institute for Gender and Women Studies at the University of Rochester is offering its annual Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize for Fiction by an American Woman. The winner will receive a cash prize of $7,500. The prize will be awarded to a woman who is a USA citizen, and who has written the best book-length work of prose fiction, whether novel, short stories, or experimental writing. Works written primarily for children and publications from private and vanity presses cannot be considered. Deadline: February 1, 2013. For more information, please visit the website.

The Lindquist & Vennum Prize for Poetry is a regional prize, presented by Milkweed Editions and the Lindquist & Vennum Foundation, with the aim of supporting outstanding Midwestern poets and bringing their work to a national stage. The winner will receive $10,000 and publication. Submissions for this regional prize will be accepted only from poets currently residing in the Upper Midwestern United States, defined as: North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Iowa, and Wisconsin. Deadline: January 31, 2014. For more information, please visit the website.

The Raiziss/de Palchi Translation Awards presented by the Academy of American Poets recognizes outstanding translations into English of modern Italian poetry. Only books by living translators of standard (non-dialect) Italian are eligible. Self-published collections do not qualify. The winner will receive $10,000. Deadline: February 15, 2014. For more information, please visit the website.

Comments: 0